Joining me around the campfire today is debut fantasy author E.V. Everest.


  • Hi E.V. tell us a bit about yourself and what inspired you to write?

Hi everyone! I’m E.V. Everest, and I write fantasy and sci-fi books. My debut novel, Seven Crowns, released this year (2020).

A little bit about me: I enjoy the great outdoors. I’m a huge animal lover and have two dogs and two cats. The weirdest thing about me (that I am willing to commit to paper) is that I can play the trombone and ride a unicycle at the same time. Freak flag flying high, ladies and gentlemen!

Though I strayed to pursue a “practical career,” I’ve always loved to write. I can remember shoving several desks together in elementary school to write stories with a friend. Our series featured a cat that travelled to the moon :p

  • What appeals to you most about the fantasy genre?

Fantasy is boundless. As a writer, the only confines are those you set for yourself. It’s a genre where cats can talk, dragons still fly the evening skies, and Elvis *could be* your next door neighbor.

  • Tell us a little bit about your latest project and the challenges you’ve faced putting it all together?

I am currently working on a young adult sci-fi series. The first novel, Seven Crowns, was released at the end of July. Blurb below.

A crown is dangerous. A crown split seven ways is deadly.

One year after the death of her mom, sixteen-year-old Anabella Halt is living on her own and breaking all the rules. Life is tough but ordinary.

Until Ana learns her mom’s dangerous secret—she was the heir to a fallen dynasty on a world ruled by seven families. Her family was murdered one by one. Now, assassins are closing in, and Ana could be next.

With the help of a handsome hobo, Ana escapes to the place where it all began—a starflung world where magic and technology coexist. A place where Ana must navigate a tangled web of friends and foes to unmask her would-be assassin before it’s too late.

Travel to a glittering, dangerous world with political alliances and ballgowns, perfect for fans of Cinder and The Hunger Games.

The biggest challenge with the second book (release scheduled for February 2021) is balancing plot lines. I have quite a few threads I want to weave together. Outlining has helped immensely! Overall, I’m really excited to share it with beta readers soon.

  • What type of characters do you like to write the most and how much of yourself do you put into them?

I really enjoy writing snarky side characters and villains. Their lines are always fun to write.

None of my characters are exactly like me, but a few contain a little piece of me. For instance, I have a little bit of Samuel’s snark, Ana’s independence, and Ophelia’s love of animals.

  • For any wannabe writers out there what’s the most useful thing you’ve learned?

Ask for feedback early and often. A rule of thumb for accepting critique: If one person says your chapter is garbage, ignore them. If two people say your chapter is garbage, re-read and really consider their feedback. If three people say your chapter is garbage, look for a trash can.

  • What writing tricks do you utilise to hit your deadlines and keep your stories on track?

In the words of Douglas Adams, “I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.”

In all seriousness, knowing that readers are waiting for a book, is very motivating.

  • Are you a plotter or a pantser (make it up as you go)?

I’m a reformed pantser. Now, I outline. It helps me to build complex, multi-layered plots. I can evaluate the twists and turns BEFORE I get to the editing table. What a time saver!

  • What plans do you have for the future? A new series or perhaps a dip into other genres?

Too many to count! Right now, my first priorities are completing the Bellaton series and building the Coffeehouse Magic series. However, I have a short story that is 70% there. Teaser below.

An out of work architect is desperate for employment. Too desperate. He takes a position redesigning an abandoned nuclear bunker but finds he’s not alone in the deep. Think Night Vale X Twilight Zone.

  • With the world the way it is at the moment what sort of tales do you prefer? Ones with heroes where good triumphs over evil or ones that take a darker approach?

Like most people, I really enjoy a multifaceted villain with an interesting backstory. However, I’ve been on a light-hearted reads binge. I recently read Meg Cabot’s Avalon High.

That’s also why I wrote The Matchmaker and the Coven. What’s more escapist than a coffeehouse that sits on the boundary between a hundred realms? Or a meddling barista who insists on setting up a water nymph and a mortal?

  • What’s better, Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings or Star Wars?

This is a cruel question. I’m also deeply offended that Star Trek didn’t make the list :p I love Harry Potter. I went to the midnight bookstore openings, and it will always have a special place in my heart. I also adore Lord of the Rings, Doctor Who, Star Trek, Twilight Zone, Chronicles of Narnia, and many, many more.

My newsletter is very active and goes out twice a month. We have trivia championships, recommended reads, sneak previews, and freebies. I’m doing a November giveaway of The Matchmaker & the Coven to all new subscribers. So, if you enjoy light-hearted fantasy, give it a try.

https://dl.bookfunnel.com/kj4pspb0vs

Website & Blog:

https://www.evelinaeverest.com

Facebook Reader Group:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/2394603750840538

GoodReads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/53474078-seven-crowns

Amazon:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.